Raised (yeast) Donut

Original – Downstate Donuts

**8/2/19 UPDATE** Downstate Donuts contacted me on 7/29 and said that they think I may have mistakenly been given the sweet potato maple donut. This review reflects my experience where I was under the impression I was eating the original vanilla glazed donut.  Hopefully, I can try an original glazed in the near future and provide an updated review. It should also be noted that Lakeview Rewired Cafe no longer sells these donuts.

Remember Downstate Donuts from Donut Fest earlier this year? Well, I finally nabbed a whole version for myself. I treated myself after the gym one Saturday morning when I popped into the Lakeview location of Rewired Cafe on Broadway.

downstatedonut

There wasn’t much of a selection when I entered so I went with “original.” I remember I was asked if I wanted another flavor, but I can’t remember what it was. Maple something? Unimportant. I figured since it was my first official review of Downstate Donuts, I’d start with the basic donut first. After all, if you don’t have a quality glazed donut, you don’t have a good foundation for other donuts.

If you’re not familiar with Downstate Donuts, these are potato donuts. What makes it a potato donut? According to their website, the “dough [is] crammed with lots of mashed potato to elevate the traditional dry yeast donut to a new level of unparalleled creamy deliciousness.” Apparently, there’s also a sweet potato version as well–maybe next time!

Appearance: 3
Eh, the icing is kind of falling off and looks a little rugged.

Dough: 3
Very unique. Has a maple syrup taste and is denser than a traditional yeast donut

Glaze/Frosting: 5
Standard glaze

Topping: N/A

Filling: N/A

Overall Taste: 4
Pretty good, though I don’t know if I’d go running back for this donut. I’d be willing to try the other flavors though.

Total: 15/20 Sprinkles

Other locations where you can find Downstate Donuts include Printer’s Row Coffee, Gallery Cafe, Amazon Books, Coffee Lab, City Coffee, Coffee Joint, and Helix Cafe.

2 thoughts on “Original – Downstate Donuts

  1. So, I was not a fan of this donut. I thought the dough had a ‘wet ‘ texture and left a funny after taste. The potato donuts I LOVE are at The Budlong. They only make them on the weekends as part of their brunch menu. There’s are more like donut holes sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with their highly addictive mixed berry jam.

    Like

Leave a comment