Old Fashioned

Cranberry Orange Old-Fashioned

Sometimes I go into a donut shop knowing exactly what I’m going to order, but often not. I usually let the appearance of the donuts in the case guide me. Sometimes I’m in the mood for a chocolate donut, but more often I tend to gravitate to the fruit donuts (which, if you have been reading this for a while, should be no surprise to you).

A box from Firecakes appeared in our office last week and this donut was definitely eye-catching. Several people asked, “what’s that one?” In a sea of sprinkles, chocolate frosting, and glazed donuts, this cranberry red stood out.

firecakesdonutschicago

I had been wanting to try the cranberry orange old-fashioned from Firecakes when I saw their Instagram post promoting it. It sounded like a good flavor combination. Also, the Cranberry old-fashioned from Glazed and Infused was my first donut post, so I wanted to see how this one stacked up.

Appearance: 5
It’s so beautiful!

Dough: 4
I was kind of hoping there would be some vanilla bean in the dough, but there wasn’t. Still pretty solid overall though.

Glaze/frosting: 4
While I liked the cranberry flecks in the glaze, I felt like this could have packed a bigger punch of flavor. It was fruity, but not as fruit-forward as I would have liked it to be.

Topping: N/A

Filling: N/A

Overall Taste: 3.5
I was really looking forward to this, mostly based on the photo I had seen before. I thought it was just ok. I’ve definitely had better from Firecakes, but I wouldn’t be mad if I had to eat this one again

Total: 16.5/20 sprinkles

Leave a comment