Uncategorized

Beignets – The Berghoff

The Berghoff is a must-go classic Chicago restaurant. Located downtown in the Loop, it’s convenient for dinner or just an after-work beer. Wikipedia tells me it was opened in 1898 (the same year as DePaul University!), and if you haven’t been, add it to the top of your list.

On the to the beignets. I know, beignets aren’t very German. The soft pretzels are a little more “on brand” (and are also excellent), but neither is the quesadilla that’s on the menu. I’d say “it’s bar food,” but I rarely find beignets at a bar in the evening hours. Nevertheless, I knew I had to try because #content.

You can find these beignets in the bar area of The Berghoff Monday – Thursday from 4 – 7 p.m. I highly recommend sharing these with someone because one order yields around seven little beignets. They are also served with a chocolate and a caramel dipping sauce.

Appearance: 5
Lovely presentation

Dough: 3
This reminds me of Eckert’s donuts, which is how I described the mini donuts at Guaranteed Rate Field 2 years ago. If you haven’t had them, I really don’t know how to describe them. Either you know or you don’t know. Eckert’s is an orchard near where I grew up and their restaurant serves these donut-beignet-biscuit things with apple butter. The dough isn’t like a traditional donut, but it’s fried dough.

Glaze/frosting: 4
I loved the chocolate dipping sauce. The caramel was fine

Topping: 4
A nice dusting of cinnamon sugar

Filling: N/A

Overall Taste: 4
These are a nice treat if you’re craving something sweet. And the dough is great at soaking up the alcohol.

Total: 20/25 sprinkles

Leave a comment