Filled · Raised (yeast) Donut

Danish Donut with Almond Cream – Stan’s

Last week I participated in the Virtual Stan’s Donut 5K. I ran the innaugural race in 2017, which was a lot of fun, but I think being able to do it on my own time was just as enjoyable. Wearing my race t-shirt, I met up with a friend in Lakeview and walked up to Montrose Harbor along the lakepath. Allinall, we ended up walking 6 miles (what can I say, I’m an overachiever), ending our walk at Stan’s (because of course!).

Besides the finisher medal in the race packet I received, there was also a coupon for 1 free donut. I asked the employee, does this mean ANY donut? Indeed it did, so I indulged with this the new Danish Donut. I was intrigued by the almond cream. I also just love almonds. The employee told me I made a great choice, so I knew it was going to be good.

Stans5k_2020

Appearance: 5
It definitely caught my attention in the case!

Dough: 5
Sturdy for all of the filling and toppings

Glaze/frosting: 5
A+ chocolate frosting as usual

Topping: 4
The slivered almonds on top were great, but I don’t know if the powdered sugar was necessary

Filling: 5
Love the almond cream!

Overall Taste: 5
I devoured this donut. I earned it after that walk!

Total: 29/30 sprinkles

Act of Allyship: Listened to the “1619″ Podcast from The New York Times

One thought on “Danish Donut with Almond Cream – Stan’s

Leave a comment