Raised (yeast) Donut

Vanilla Glazed – Doughnut Vault

When I started this blog, I couldn’t wait to visit Doughnut Vault to review a donut. I knew I had to review the Vanilla Glazed first because it was the first one I had ever bought from them. Doughnut Vault is the donut shop I recommend to people when they visit Chicago. I make sure to tell people they go to the one on Franklin, not on Canal. The Canal location (as well as the “Vault Van” food truck) does not sell the yeast donuts and those are the ones worth getting. They are a labor of love and worth every penny.

Fun fact: Anthony Bourdain visited it a few years ago when filming the Chicago episode of The Layover.

Appearance: 5
You can see the vanilla bean in the glaze! It’s massive!

Dough: 5
Fluffy and light. Not too dense.

Glaze/frosting: 5
Rich vanilla flavor perfectly glazed over the donut.

Topping: N/A

Filling: N/A

Overall Taste: 5
This is amazing. I have never been happier in my life than when I’m eating this donut.

Total: 20/20 sprinkles

 

2017-01-09-09-13-34
Part of a balanced breakfast?

 

5 thoughts on “Vanilla Glazed – Doughnut Vault

Leave a comment