Old Fashioned

Strawberry Old Fashioned with Chocolate Drizzle – Doughnut Vault

Did you know there’s a second Donut Vault? Hidden in an office building at 111 N. Canal, this second outpost isn’t as good as the original by Merchandise Mart because they don’t sell the fluffy raised donuts. I asked why and they said it’s because they’d deflate during transportation. While the fluffy raised donuts are my favorite (with a perfect score to prove it), the old-fashioned donuts satisfy the craving.

Doughnut Vault likes to have a fruit glazed old fashioned for their daily specials. On the day I went it was strawberry with a chocolate drizzle. Let’s see how it compares to the previously reviewed orange cream old fashioned (with chocolate drizzle as well!).

Appearance: 
It looks like a pink zebra! I love how vibrant the pink glaze is.

Dough: 
Nice outer crunch and soft (but not too soft) middle. Excellent textures

Glaze/frosting: 
The strawberry is delightful and fresh tasting. I feel as if the chocolate takes away from it & is unnecessary.

Topping: N/A

Filling: N/A

Overall Taste: 
This is a really good donut. The strawberry is not too sweet and I like that the glaze comes all the way down to the bottom of the donut.

Total: 19/20 sprinkles

I liked this donut better than the orange cream one, but I’m thinking Doughnut Vault needs to nix the chocolate drizzle. It doesn’t really add anything to the donut.

2017-08-16 08.57.07

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Old Fashioned with Chocolate Drizzle – Doughnut Vault

Leave a comment